Many countries have the same shops and products. Some consider it a positive development, whereas others consider it negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s world, it has become increasingly common among many nations to adopt the same shops and products. People have different opinions about whether this development is positive or negative. Although this trend can bring certain drawbacks, such as the loss of culture, I firmly believe that its positive consequences are far more significant.

On the one hand, the loss of culture should not be underestimated when considering how widespread this trend has become. When a new foreign shop opens to the public, they are more likely to shop in this particular international supermarket. This is primarily because products sold in international retailers have been verified by experts and meet international standards. As a consequence, people tend to shop in these global supermarket chains rather than traditional local shops. For instance, Spice Bazaar is the world’s the most popular traditional market located in Turkey; however, if people prioritize foreign shops, this renowned place will no longer reflect cultural heritage in the long term.

On the other hand, I personally believe that adopting international supply chains is generally a positive development for certain reasons. First and foremost, international supermarket chains boost the economy. Initially, local markets and manufacturers create products for their own people; however, if they then start to export these produces to other countries, it can stimulate export growth. Not only will businesses increase their profits, but also countries benefit from international trade. More sales mean manufacturers will employ a greater number of people and pay more tax revenue. Consequently, increased exports and more employment strengthen the economy of a country.

Furthermore, implementing new foreign shops may help tourists adapt faster. Tourists usually find it difficult to adapt to a new country because of unfamiliar shops, products, and services. However, if they see the same supermarkets as in their hometown, they are more likely to shop there, as they can purchase familiar products. As a consequence, tourists visiting a new destination can adapt faster to this country. For instance, tourists from Russia visiting Uzbekistan can adapt almost instantly, because Uzbek shops provide the same products, and there is even a Russian supermarket chain “Fix Price”.

In conclusion, while opponents of this tendency to adopt more and more foreign shops argue that it can lead to the loss of culture, I firmly believe that this disadvantage becomes less significant in comparison with improved economy and better tourist infrastructure.