many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. what are the causes and solutions?

In most countries, people who have taken part in or directly committed criminal acts are kept in high-security prisons. In spite of this, it is definitely not uncommon to see these criminals do more felonies after being released from jail. This essay strives to elaborate on why this phenomenon occurs and what effects it will bring to society as a whole.

First and foremost, some felons have the tendency to not feel remorse for their past actions. Hence, they might not realize the degree of severity of the crimes they committed previously and instead they would continue breaking the law without a sense of guilt. In addition to that, many criminals do not get the punishments they deserve. In other words, they may go back to their old ways of committing felonies because they do not mind the relatively short sentences and light punishments given to them. For instance, in some areas of the USA, most people spend very short periods of time in jail for crimes such as drunk driving that they might as well continue to do so after being released.

Moreover, many ex-inmates are part of larger criminal syndicates or at the very least are immersed in an ecosystemn full of other people who have done heinous acts, Hence, when they are freed from jail, they might go back to those communities and continue to take part in illegal acts due to peer pressure or other external factors. A good example of this would be the case of gang violence in Haiti where most of the inmates are part of various different gangs across the country. When these convicts were released from prison, they returned to their respective gangs and caused more chaos throughout the country.

There are a number of detrimental impacts that stem from the aforementioned issue. The most obvious would be the high likelihood of an increase in the crime rates in certain areas. As a result, law-abiding citizens would feel unsafe and threatened at all times, rendering them unable to go about their daily routines. Not only that, a high crime rate rate might destroy the image of a country in the public eye which may deter tourists from writing, consequently slowing down the growth of a region’s economy.

To conclude this essay, the causes behind the issue of ex-inmates committing further felonies can be boiled down to either internal factors such as indifference and greed or external ones like the environment around them. Regardless of the reason , this phenomenon lead to a more unsafe society.