Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Recidivism is one of the most concerning problems in many countries, offenders keep committing crimes after being sentenced. In this essay, I will discuss about the reasons of this matter and will suggest some ways to keep criminals from re-offending.

On the one hand, it’s so hard to be sure about the reasons behind this matter without investigating the lives of large number of recidivists. However, It sounds like some of the reasons can be the lack of job opportunities for the people with criminal records and being in a poisoned environment. For example, repeating illegal acts are more common in people who live in rough areas or spending a lot of time with criminal friends or family. Some may have tried to get out of this kind of societies, but couldn’t find a good career to move on.

On the other hand, to tackle this problem, governments should train the prisoners and open some job opportunities only for people who committed crime in the past. For example, with marketable skills (like cooking, sewing or repairing) they will be accepted in good community much faster. By getting a job, it is much easier to move on from the past and leave the unhealthy families. However, always they might be some who are not willing to contribute.

In conclusion, there are various factors that causes repeated criminal behaviour, but with education and career opportunities the chances of recidivism will be lower. These acts might be too expensive for the governments, but it worth the price to build a safer country.