Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

These days, recidivism occurs more often even though criminals are punished strictly. Deliberate offences to gain recognition in the world of criminals and monetary interest are the main reasons for this tendency. I think stricter laws, in the form of fines and harsh penalties in particular, and educating ex-criminals could effectively solve the issue.

There are a couple of primary root causes why an increasing number of offenders tend to commit a crime after their punishment. Starting with the monetary aspect, most criminals are usually from low-income families, meaning they need money more than other layers of the population. To meet basic needs and live a luxurious life, potential criminals always find the easiest way to get rich. In this case, they start committing crimes of various types, such as shoplifting and scamming. Since the extent to which punishment is given to a criminal is not long enough in many parts of the world, offenders are highly likely to commit a crime after their punishment, normalising the idea of recidivism. Another main reason for this trend is the intentional attempt. In other words, some criminals may want to commit a crime deliberately to gain recognition in a circle of the wider offender community or what is known as gangsters, a situation common where the crime rates are high. For example, in several states of the US, there is a widespread ideology that the status of criminals is evaluated by the number of crimes they committed. All of these could be the reasons for recidivism.

As for solutions, despite the severity of the problem, there are several measures to change this situation. In my opinion, implementing strict punishments and prolonging the period of imprisonment are the most effective ways to prevent offenders from committing crimes. To be precise, the period given as a sentence should be extended to many years, including a life sentence, a type of imprisonment continuing until the death of offenders. In addition, it would also be more efficient to force ex-criminals to pay an increased amount of fines, which leads to a decrease in crime rates thanks to the unbearable burden of money. Another viable way to tackle the issue is education. When there are educational programs about the possible consequences of repeated crimes, such initiatives can raise offenders’ awareness while they are in prison and have a positive impact on eliminating potential recidivism. For example, there is an education system specialised for prisoners to reintegrate into society successfully in some Northern European countries. This rehabilitation process means the possibility of re-offending cases is significantly few, giving criminals who behave well, follow the rules and realise their past mistakes a chance to embark on a new life as regular people.

In conclusion, although there are serious reasons why there are frequent cases of recidivism, the government can address this problem with a rehabilitation process and enact more severe punishments.