Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

The rise of crime is one of the most important issues facing our society now. A large number of people who committed crime once are willing to do it again even after rigorous punishment. In the following paragraphs I will outline the reasons of this trend as well as suggest some actions which can be done to prevent the spread of crime.

To begin with, one of the most widespread reasons behind the rise of crime is lack of common sense. Most of the crimes are committed under an alcohol or drug poisoning, which shatter the mental and physical state of an individual influencing on their sanity and sense of responsibility. In order to prevent this pattern the government may implement some strategies distancing people from mind-altering substances. One of the ideas may be taking control over the industries, including the production and distribution of alcohol and drugs. This is thought to dramatically improve the situation. By using this strategy it is possible to lower the crime rates and improve health of the general population.

Another huge reason behind most of the felonies is mildness of the punishment. Many former criminals may realize that the penalty for certain crimes are not as rigid as they should be, leading them to commit these crimes over and over again without thinking of the consequences. To illustrate this, the sentence for a small theft can be up to 2 years, which may appear as not long enough for some people, which drives them to continue this tendency. A viable solution to it may be, toughening the penalties for some crimes to terrify people more, which may distance them from committing felonies

To conclude with it is equally important for both the government and the people to take an action to lower the risks of the crime in the country; however, in bigger perspective it is easier for the government to improve the situation, since they hold more power and opportunities to it.