Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

Less developed economies often seek income sources in developing tourist industries. May it be beneficial in the long run, or the potential consequences may be harmful for a steady development? In my opinion, this is a viable strategy, with certain precautions taken into consideration. In this essay I am going dig into both viewpoints.

On the bright side, if a country has beautiful nature, historical artifacts or any other points of interest, it requires no great effort to attract tourists. The crowds of people flocking into a region are usually followed by an equally considerable stream of money which, under proper supervision, can serve to develop a better future for denizens. Also, in many cases, it brings around the followed investments in construction and entertainment spheres.

To the downside, if local authorities don’t prove skillful enough in managing, often careless, guests and fail in devising proper measures to preserve the landmarks attracting that many visitors, pretty soon everything may be ruined and trashed. Another factor here, is the governmental policies allocating the available income to long term investments in the local economy, education, healthcare system and other spheres which will be the next big thing for the state’s future.

To conclude, I would like to mark that only a government is capable of implementing necessary limitations in order to take control over tourists, preventing any possible destructive activities, at the same time, directing the money they make to ensure the thriving future of citizens. The contemporary world knows examples of both approaches, when the efforts didn’t go in vane and led to becoming a diversified economy and the cases when the population is doomed to serve as tourist entertainers only.