Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

Many developing nations are currently focusing efforts on building and promoting their tourism industries. Despite many economical and social benefits, there still be shortcomings for boosting this

Firstly, it is believed that tourism provides job opportunities for local people, which help improve life standards and reduce poverty. For instance, in recent years, besides famous beaches or places, some villages of ethnic minorities have been applying the community tourism model, attracting a huge amount of attention from domestic tourists. Such new and interesting forms of tourism have brought a large number of foreign tourists and received very positive feedback. Furthermore, boosting tourism helps to enhance international relations and spread knowledge about indigenous culture and customs around the world. People are naturally curious about different cultures and ways of life, and travel facilitates this learning process.,

However, there are several disadvantages to expanding a country’s tourism business. For example, in many beaches such as Nha Trang or Cua Lo, it has been a major source of pollution and damage. Most tourists consume bottled water, resulting in tonnes of plastic waste each year. Many developing countries lack effective recycling facilities and are unsure how to handle waste, thus it frequently ends up scattered over the countryside, rivers, seas, beaches, and oceans. In addition, the entrance of tourists into specific regions might disrupt the local animals and ecosystems, causing additional environmental damage.

In conclusion, I believe that developing country’s tourism is a desirable improvement, provided that the government can manage such serious problems and boost inherent strength.