Many governments in the world spend large amount of money in art which help to improve the quality of people lives. However, government should spend more money on other things rather than arts. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Societies with a heritage in the ‘arts’ have long been considered culturally sophisticated and advanced. However, with the recent financial crisis this lavishness and expense should be questioned. Tax-payers’ money has to be spent practically rather than on cultural endeavours. Firstly, not everyone in society appreciates art, and, secondly, employment should take precedence.

Art can bring quality into one’s life if you are interested. In society art-lovers are typically in the minority, and other activities, such as sports are more popular. Take football, for example. Across the globe it is obvious that there are more people watching matches in stadiums than looking at sculptures or art. This fact makes it impossible that art can bring quality into a community if the galleries hold little interest for the region.

Secondly, the resources diverted to such projects come from the public and should be spent in a way that benefits them. Commissioning or purchasing art is an insult to taxpayers who endure high unemployment, such as, those in Newcastle, UK. This city suffers from historically high unemployment, yet the council commissioned a large sculpture called ‘The Angel of the North’. Financing a job creation project would undoubtedly have been more practical for the local community.

To conclude, I believe that it is an unjust affirmation that art brings quality into one’s life, and I agree that the money should be spent elsewhere. This is because art expenditures only benefit a small minority and secondly the expense involved should benefit the majority. Ideally in the future, governments will recognise that quality in a person’s life derives from a decent opportunity in life, not a sculpture.