Many governments spend large amounts of money on works of art, such as paintings or sculptures, for public places. Is this a good or a bad use of government money?

The appreciation of arts has often been associated with a high level of development in societies especially those with deep rooted cultures in the arts. However, recent financial crises make one wonder about the excessive spending in cultural projects. In light of this, it is rational that each coin spent by the taxpayers be used in sensible priorities such as basic needs rather than wasting it on arts. It is most fitting given that not everyone in society holds appreciation for art, but rather other aspects of life such as employment should be given priority.

To answer the first question, yes, art can make the lives of people who appreciate it more fulfilling. However, art enthusiasts are usually a limited group, while other activities for example sporting activities are more popular among the population. For example, football is one kind of popular sport which attracts large number of people to the stadium while art gallery has comparatively small number of visitors. This difference shows that art contributes minimally to the improvement of the social well-being of inhabitants if the latter does not appreciate artistic creations.

Furthermore, the funds that are provided for cultural issues are from the people and the public must ensure that these funds are used to cater for people. For instance, Newcastle, UK has tested high levels of unemployment in the past and, therefore, the local council decided to invest in a giant sculpture called ‘The Angel of the North. ‘ Such practices may just turn into an art piece providing no direct benefit to the society whereas the money could be spent in creating job opportunities by establishment of job creation programs.

All in all, I believe that the idea of art improving quality of life for every individual is an exaggeration. This attitude means that public funds should be spent on initiatives that are in the public domain to the greatest extent possible. Art expenditures are more likely to benefit a select few while investing in employment and opportunities will positively impact the many. undefined