Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Numerous governments around the world state that the major objective of a country should be its economic progress. Meanwhile, several others claim that various factors unrelated to the economy could also potentially be as important. Hence, both sides provide equally valid advantages and disadvantages.

Economic progress is one of the major factors that contributes to a country’s financial stability because through the availability of fundings, it could unlock the capability of enhancing diverse qualities of life. For instance, money is a key resource in improving the provision of healthcare services, maintaining political stability along with upgrading the nation’s education system for the coming generation. Consequently, this could lead to prolonged life expectancies of the country’s population, higher average salaries, more fulfilled lifestyles and reduced quantity of ill-provisioned housing and facilities.

On the other hand, wealth of financial resources may come with its own set of drawbacks and might not be able to support other urgent advancements. The source of money is limited because it comes from wages of the working class people in the country and its stability is difficult to maintain. Moreover, given the rapid increase in global warming, upgrades in sustainability efforts are extremely crucial. However, depending solely on the country’s economy won’t be able to ensure the expansion of forested areas, reduction in the usage of plastics or increasing the usage of renewable materials in limited time.

In conclusion, advancements in commerce could improve the country’s welfare in some aforementioned factors. However, in order to guarantee the overall prosperity of a country, a perfect balance between all sorts of advancements should be considered as the main goal.