Many lesser-known languages are disappearing. Young people should be forced to learn these languages so they are not lost forever. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that in oder to save some local languages from disappearing it is necessary to compel youths to learn these languages. This essay totally disagrees with that statement. I believe that it is impossible to reach the goal of saving by making people learn not counting with personal desires. Moreover, the conditions of today’s globalization-oriented world, will intensify the difficulty of this process.

It is hard to find an example when forcing people led to positive results in a long term outlook. People can be taught a disappearing language as well as given an opportunity speak it, but highly-likely this will not occur because they do not have an urge to do it . At least, they will not teach their children. This is why, in this case, life period of language will be extended only for one generation and it does not solve the hole issue. For example, a friend of mine, who was born in Tatarstan region has been taught a local language, during her childhood there. Nevertheless, now living in a city she does not speak her first language at all.

Another, factor that should be taken into account is globalization. Popularity of world languages such as English is rapidly increasing. There are some reasons why young people prefers to use them in lieu of native ones. For instance, in Russia, English-based words or phases are becoming more and more popular among teenagers. Youth is not striving to do it on purpose but they follow various influencers from all over the world and stay appraised about international tendencies, consequently, teenagers use foreign vocabulary.

In conclusion, making youth learning disappearing languages will not bring any beneficial consequences, because teaching people does not guarantees using and sharing these languages. Meanwhile, modern circumstances making this idea even less possible.