Many of the medical problems that people are experiencing in today's world are due to the fact that we have a very sedentary lifestyle. To what extent to you agree?

Inactive lifestyle is an alarming concern nowadays, posing a significant effect on individual health. While there are diverse reasons behind every health problem, i strongly believe that one main reason is deeply rooted from sedentary lifestyles implemented by many individuals.

The main reason to extensive sedentary practice is due to increasing utilization of technology. Technology aimed to make human life more practical. One result of technology advancement is the evolution of transportation that shift walking as travel modality to rely solely on engine-driven vehicle. For example, in Indonesia it is common for residence to own private cars, thus availability of sidewalk for pedestrian is less prominent nowadays. In addition, most of the activities that require physical mobility had shifted to on-screen program. A case in point is sports and games now available in its virtual form, that further making body less active. Much less compared to days before whereas this activity required bodily movement.

Another point to consider, sedentary lifestyle brings strain to physical well-being based on medical perspective. Firstly, lack of activity resulted in the increased lipid buildup in arterial wall. Subsequently triggering blockage and limits the blood supply to vital organ. Many diseases arise from this process, such as coronary artery disease or stroke. Secondly, lack of exercise would hinder cellular process and metabolism. Long term practice of this unhealthy habit would result in development of systemic diseases, diabetes mellitus type 2 and obesity to name.

In conclusion, i strongly believe that there are positive links between this sedentary living habits to the development of various diseases. Hence, being mindful to what our body needs is the key to tackle this growing issue.