Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first purnishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Many offenders commit more crimes after serving time in jail after their first punishment, instead of learning their lesson. This is mainly because the prison environment could be toxic, as they might get involved with people who committed serious crimes. However, the solution for this problem can be through focusing on rehab, and separate the prisoners from each other based on their crimes.

The desirable result from the time serving punishment is to return criminals to the right path, as they will sit more with themselves and think through their mistakes. Furthermore, one thing that could interfere with this process, is engaging with other criminals. For instance, sometimes offenders with minor crimes such as, shoplifting and over speeding get stuck with real criminals like, murderers and rapists. These kind of connections might lead eventually to creating gangs .

However, the solution could be easily done by focusing more on building rehabilitation facilities. Since the rehab would focus more on teaching the offenders how they should think about the consequences of their actions before committing them. Another significant method to tackle such a problem, is to separate the serious criminals from offenders with minor crimes. Consequently, criminals cannot take advantage from each other, and the exploitation rate will decline.

In conclusion, offenders tend to commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. This is due to the toxic environment of prison, and how people with minor crimes are getting involved with real dangerous criminals. This problem could be solved by providing rehabilitation programmes and by keeping the prisoners separate based on the level of their crimes.