Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernization. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernization?

Modernization is a process in which cities improve and update their infrastructure and all areas of activity. One might claim that modernization has advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand,modernization has its own benefits. Firstly,along with modernization,people’s living standards increase, new opportunities for development and jobs appear. Moreover, thanks to modernization,the economic level of the country increases. For example, in Singapore,the original old port,the old infrastructure was modernized,modern areas were created,public transport was improved,which made the city the world financial capital.

On the other hand,modernization has its own difficulties. Secondly,modernization raises the standard of living in the country,which is why the prices for everything rise and people can’t afford to buy the necessary things . Furthermore,the modernization requires huge sums of money. For instance,according to the World Bank,around 20% of the world countries have a low level of modernization because they don’t have funds to renewal the roads and infrastructure.

To sum up,I can say that modernization has a lot of benefits. This process allows people to find new opportunities for country development and gives significant contribution for persons lives.