Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernization. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernization?

Modernisation is the process of adoption of novel ideas and technologies. This change touches every aspect of life. A large number of old cities across the globe are undergoing a transition form traditional to modern practices. This comes with advantages like better lifestyle and national income as well as disadvantages like environmental pollution and lose of heritage.

Modernization has several benefits both to the people and the economy as a whole. Adoption of newer technologies backed by science aids growth of industries, hence increase employability. The more cash people have at their disposal, better will be their living standards. Improved transportation facilities improve mobility which can overcome geographical barriers. All these will ultimately boost the nation’s economy.

However, modernisation does have some disadvantages. It can lead to lose of ancestral tradition and heritage. Many of the local artisans lose their traditional works due to new jobs created by rising number of industries. Pollution is another problem. Smoke and wastes produced by factories can lead to air, water and soil pollution. Increased number of vehicles on the roads can also cause air and noise pollution.

To conclude, just as a coin have two faces, modernization have both positive and negative sides. On one hand, it enhances the life of people by providing better jobs, transportation and other utilities. While on the other hand, it can lead to degradation of tradition and environment. The latter ones can be mitigated to a large extend provided the authorities and local people take necessary precautions to conserve both nature and culture.