Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea.

Many individuals believe that most of public transportation should be of charge in most primary cities. Personally, I believe there are both positive and negative sides of this idea.

On the one hand, free public transportation has significant upsides. First of all, fare free public vehicles can thwart traffic congestion by motivating daily commuters on the private vehicles to utilize public transit. Taking the fees for public transit off can lead to dwindling private car ownership which will result in the remarkable decrease in traffic congestion. Secondly, this idea can reduce the air pollution which is considered as one of the main problems in our contemporary world. First of all, governments can achieve more eco-friendly environment by administering this policy. No-cost public transit is able to inspire individuals to use public transport rather than private vehicles which will have beneficial effects on our nature.

On the other hand, free public transportation may have detrimental impacts on economics of the country. First of all, acceptance of this policy is not only going to cause damages on the financial budget of the country, but also reduce the consumption of oil which numerous countries are reliant on. By promoting this idea, high volume of people will be reluctant to squander their money to purchase oil because of comfortable and costless public transport. Secondly, there are going to be financial strain when the complications will occur. There are high probabilities that authorities will not be able to handle the pressure caused by monetary scarcity.

In conclusion, there are both upsides and downsides of this principle.