Many people aim to achieve a balance between their work and lives, but few people achieve it. What are the causes of this? How to overcome this problem?

In this day and age, many people attempt to strike a balance between their personal and professional lives. However, only a fraction of them accomplish that goal. From my personal perspective, although there are several reasons behind this issue, it can be tackled through various ways. This essay will elaborate on the main causes of work-life imbalance and possible solutions to this problem.

To commence, a few causes can be named that contribute to why people are struggling to meet work-life balance, chief of which is the desire for promotion to higher positions, as they tend to offer higher salaries. Consequently, people spend more time for their work which means less time to cater for their personal needs. Another crucial factor is the increasingly high demands for output and quality. For example, technology advancements which enable long and complex calculations to be performed give people the thought that it is more unlikely to make mistakes. As a result, this creates an underlying pressure that makes people feel anxious, thus leading to overworking.

Despite those reasons, several solutions can be adopted to counteract this problem. Chief of which is that people should manage their time properly. This skill can be achieved through many ways such as establishing a flexible time schedule or rearranging work order like prioritizing more urgent tasks. This, in turn, make the boundaries between personal and professional lives more transparent as people already have their specific time frames. Furthermore, it is imperative that government or manufacturers impose working policies that prevent overworking. Not only do they offer workers an opportunity to strike an ideal work-life balance, but also improve their state of mind and productivity.

To recapitulate, while there are a number of factors involved that repress people from accomplishing a work-life balance, proper time management, together with the assist from corporations and the government, can be some pragmatic solutions.