Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of their fear of crime. Some people believe that more action needs to be taken to prevent crime. However, others feel that little can be done. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Criminal acts can take place anywhere and anytime, making people worry about going outside to do their activities. Many view some doable crime prevention strategies must be implemented to push crime records in a particular area while others tend to be pessimistic if any strategies are effective to tackle this issue. On this occasion, I would like to discuss some possibilities and challenges in establishing crime prevention strategies.

Some people believe that possible and doable actions preventing crime needs to be taken as long as all community members are willing to participate. In Australia, for example, the Queensland Police Department recently just introduced its ‘Neighbourwatch Program’ focusing on improving community involvement and participation in reporting criminal activities. Similarly, some cities in Indonesia also establish a ‘Siskamling’ program where a group of people in a particular area take turns to go around their area for nightwatch to prevent robbery and other criminal activities. While law enforcement can only be done by the authorities, such as police officers, such programs indeed can generate some benefits for people living in a certain area. In simple words, from our neighbours to our neighbourhood.

While such programs are considered positive and could provide positive impacts, however, some people are not on the same boat. Such participation indeed requires a lot of active persuasions inviting all community members’ awareness and willingness to do useful things for their own community. While deep down in their heart they are willing to do that, it is undeniable that many felt insecurity to do such actions. For example, some people stated that having lack of support from police officers patrolling around the area is, unfortunately, a fact hindering them to support the programs. No one can predict when or where sudden misfortunes can happen to their families.

In conclusion, taking actions to prevent crimes is not an impossibility. However, persuading the community members to do it is not easy. I think preventive actions should be priority to ensure people could do their activities everywhere.