Many people are working longer hours.why is this happening? what problem can this cause to people?

An increasing number of individuals are working extended hours these days. This essay will discuss the main causes of this trend and examine the problems it may cause.

One of the primary reasons why people are working long hours is the escalating cost of living. The expenses of healthcare and education increased significantly, compelling people to overwork or take on multiple jobs to meet financial obligations. For example, in some industries, especially finance and tech, many workers are expected to work prolonged working hours, as employees try to prove their loyalty and commitment. Moreover, the advancement of technology disrupted the boundaries of personal lifestyles, making it easier to contact workers at any time.

However, the consequences of this tendency are far-reaching. Working excessive hours can cause chronic stress, such as depression and anxiety. Physically, the lack of rest and increased stress often lead to burnout and cardiovascular disease, resulting in less progress and destruction of well-being. For example, in countries like Korea and Japan, many people are struggling to maintain their mental health because of job competition. Additionally, working long hours limits the time with one’s family or friends; as a result, many individuals experience loneliness and social isolation.

In conclusion, the competitive job markets and growing inflation drive people to work extensively. Yet, this may lead to mental and health issues.