Many people are working longer hours.why is this happening? what problem can this cause to people?

Over the last few decades, the number of working hours have increased dramatically. Thus, a lot of people are prone to stay at their workplace for longer hours. The most common motivations are money, promotion and even culture. However , this tendency may bring a great deal of problems. (48)

There are two understandable stimuls why employees are working extended hours. Firstly, a high salary plays a crucial role in making this decision. By doing extra job from the their employers or head of the company, people can get a reward for it in the form of money. While they overwork for a higher salary, others do it for getting a promotion in their career, which the second reason. Influence of culture as well as material resource and a higher position could also be a stimul. This tendency is widespread in asian country, especially in Japan, where people can overwork or even stay in their workplace untill the dawn. Japanese select this option due to their culture values, where it is essential to be at the same organisation and work until they retire. (132)

However, this extended hours can result lots of problems. The most obvious one is health issue such as headache, poor eyesight or even more serious one like cancer, which are resulted from the constant contact with gadgets. Furthermore, more working hours means less time spend with the family or friends. For some people presence of someone, who is very close for them, is vitally important in terms of support and communication. In the case of Japan, due to the excessive work ethic, a lot of japanese employees commit a suicide. There is even a term , which is “Karoshi” means a death at work. (103)

To conclude, although the motives for overworking can vary, the most common ones are material resource, promotion and culture values in the case of Japan. The drawbacks of this might be health problems, less contact with family, as well as suicide cause of the pressure from the work. (49)