Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

This issue of falling educational standards is of great importance in the world today. In this

essay, I will briefly discuss some of the main causes of this problem and also offer some

possible solutions to it.

In my view, one of the main reasons for poor quality education is that school students are

not disciplined properly. In the past, teachers could smack or cane children who

misbehaved. Now, however, this kind of punishment is not allowed and many teachers are

losing control of their students as a result. If student do not listen, teachers cannot teach

and learning becomes impossible. Clearly, discipline must be restored if we are to improve

educational standards. Of course, there are many other ways to discipline children;

however, I would argue that physical punishment is still the most effective method.

Another reason for poor reading, writing and mathematical skills among students today is

that many schools waste too much time teaching “soft” subjects like music, art and drama.

These subjects are certainly interesting. However, they tend to distract students from more

important subjects like mathematics and English. The more time a student spends learning

how to paint, the less time they spend learning how to read. Thus, in order to improve basic

literacy and numeracy, I would argue that schools should focus their attention on core

subjects.

In conclusion, this is such a complex problem that I don’t believe any real solution will be

found in the near future. However, I am convinced that the steps mentioned above would

be helpful.