Many people believe that governments should ban fast food because of its negative effects on public health. Do you agree or disagree?

“In modern era, where there are plenty of fast food restaurants operating in market. There is an ongoing debate between healthcare experts that how they can improve public’s health. It is widely believed that restricting junk food is the solution. However I do not completely agree with this perspective. I strongly believe that banning junk food only can not significantly improve people’s lifestyle.”

“To start with, junk food has high amount of calories as it contains salt, edible vegetable oil and addictive preservatives. Rising obesity is alarming issue amongst younger generations. They are consuming high amount of fast food than previous generations. For instance, study by USA’s health department found that people who consume junk food daily are 60% more obese than those who not. Banning fast food can assist in enhancing public healthcare. Furthermore, eating junk food can be hazardous for mental health also. People who had consumed high amount of processed food are likely to be more anxious and feel more depressed.”

“On the other hand, although banning junk food has numerous merits, it can not be completely restricted. Instead of banning junk food completely, authorities should impose extra tax on junk food. It encourages community to shift from processed food to healthy eating. To exemplify, Norway government introduced new tax named sugar tax for products which contain high amount of sugar. After implementing this policy they concluded that consumption of processed food was declining by 40%. It shows drastic improvement in society’s health. Additionally, policymakers can not snatch freedom from public through restricting fast food. Individual has freedom of choice that what they should eat.”

“In conclusion, completely banning fast food can not be advantageous for public. Instead of this authorities should encourage people to adopt healthy food. They can spread awareness by campaigns and seminars. Ultimately, it is people’s decision about their food choices.”