Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons behind this view? What are the solutions to change it?

Many people think that their nation is affected negatively by international tourism. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this problem before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it.

There are two primary reasons why individuals believe that global tourism has many detrimental effects on their country. One reason is that foreign tourists usually litter or pollute many tourist attractions. For example, Western tourists often litter while visiting a variety of famous beaches in Vietnam such as Nha Trang, Phu Quoc, and Sam Son, and this could result in water contamination and have undesirable impacts on the lives of local people. Another reason is that international tourism could lead to shifts in local cultures. For instance, increasing exposure to global tourists could encourage locals, especially the youth, adopt foreign lifestyles and values, which sometimes are immodest and unsuitable, leading to cultural erosion.

To combat this worrying issue, the following essential steps should be taken. Firstly, governments should impose many strict regulations on tourism. For instance, a heavy fine could be introduced in order to deter foreign tourists from littering and this could protect local environment from being polluted by irresponsible activities. In addition, locals could encourage their inhabitants to maintain their cultural identities. For example, they can celebrate many traditional festivals with the aim of honoring and preserving cultural richness and simultaneously improving tourism, leading to the sustainable improvement of the local area.

In conclusion, there are underlying motives behind this negative tendency, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this problem.