Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons behind this view? What are the solutions to change it?

It is widely argued that global tourism has an undesirable influence on various aspects of the local community. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this negative point before mapping out the viable solutions that should be applied to mitigate this issue.

There are two primary reasons as to why native residents often consider international tourism as a major cause of many severe problems in their nations. One reason is that this industry may have adverse bearing on the country’ traditional customs and indigenous practices. For example, when visiting Vietnam, some Western tourists may be ruthless and wear unsuitable uniforms, which could have a detrimental effect on the local young generations who tend to copy these inappropriate and immodest fashions and behaviors. Another reason is that foreign visitors usually pollute the local environment. For instance, a wide range of beaches has been heavily spoiled due to the excessive amount of plastic bags and bottles littered by overseas travellers, which could negatively affect the living standard of local dwellers.

To tackle this worrying concern, the following feasible steps should be taken as soon as possible. First and foremost, the unquestionable economic benefits of global tourism should be promoted widely via official and social media. This may result in the awareness of local inhabitants about the pivotal roles, such as offering different income sources and various job opportunities, thereby motivating them to change their criticizing attitudes. Moreover, governments should enforce strict regulations to prevent environmental pollution. For example, they could impose heavy fines on travellers who litter and release pollutants on well-known tourist attractions, which could maintain the rustic beauty of many natural tourist sites and ensure the quality of life for the local inhabitants

In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative perception toward worldwide tourism, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to change this oppositional perspective