Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both society and individuals. To what extent do you agree.

It is often said that in today’s world, most people think that social media apps like Facebook lead to drawbacks for individuals and society. In addition, I strongly agree with the statement above due to some reasons that will be stated in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the well-known social media platform, Facebook, is used by billions of users. The application is uncomplicated and easy to understand. Because of that, many individuals from kids to elderly adults, have started to use this app frequently. This could cause online thieves, also known as scammers. To illustrate, scammers will look for their prey, who are mostly older people, due to their money and vulnerability. Therefore, crimes like scams can be easily found not only on Facebook but also on other social apps.

Furthermore, negative effects could also impact anyone online. Whoever logs in on social media, will connect to strangers. This allows people to share anything with anyone. In other words, spreading information on Facebook can be done with ease. With just one tap, any info that is true or fake can be sent everywhere. This is dangerous when the information that is being shared is negative content. For instance, haters of a particular celebrity/public figure could share misleading rumors about the artist, and then people with lack of knowledge mostly start to believe the rumor without having to check the facts.

To sum up all the above, Facebook offers high accessibility to a wide range of people, with the potential of scams and misled information could cause negative influences.