Many people believe that the young should take a gap year before going to university. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this choice before concluding that the former is more significant.

Many individuals believe that the young should take a gap year for traveling or employment before attending university. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that the latter is more significant.

On the one hand, young graduates have a gap year to get a job or travel right after high school is disadvantageous to some extent. The main shortcoming is that their career path starts at a later stage than their fellows. As a result, they are very likely to get promoted later, which could cause them to suffer from peer pressure and reduce their academic performance. In addition, high school seniors could face the expense of taking a year off to travel. To be specific, if they went on a trip after graduating from high school, they would have to ask their parents for their traveling expenses, such as accommodations, flight tickets, and food, which could put a financial burden on their family.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that gap year-takers could reap the benefits. One rationale is that they would have the ability to gain experience. For instance, new graduates take a gap year to travel overseas, thereby, they would be able to improve their language skills, hone practical skills, and cultivate relevant job skills. Considering these factors, those who have a year-long break tend to enrich their life experiences more than those who do not. Another justification is that young graduates can clarify their study and career future. This is because of the fact that taking a gap year to look for job opportunities or attend vocational training would empower them to identify their own strengths and weaknesses, which could enable them to define a suitable career path.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that postponing tertiary education for one year could have some downsides, I would contend that the upsides which it offers are significantly more noteworthy.