Many people believe that watching a live performance is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals assume that going to a live performance is more pleasing compared to simply watching it on television. Personally, I firmly support this school of thought.

Granted, some may argue that watching a concert on TV allows audiences to choose their most comfortable places to enjoy the show. This stems from the theory that people can sit or even lie comfortably instead of being crammed into a sea of people attending these concerts, and they can also save a significant amount of money because of the eye-watering price that tickets cost. Admittedly, I believe that the financial situation is a crucial factor that needs to be considered carefully. Nevertheless, being surrounded by numerous people with the same hobbies can bring back valuable feelings. This can be observed in the case of Taylor Swift’s concert held in Singapore a few months ago. Specifically, despite of tiredness caused by long hours of standing and singing, Taylor’s fans hardly felt that during the performance due to the vibrant atmosphere deriving from the audiences at the concert, which television audiences may not have experienced. Therefore, even though these people did actually feel tired because of standing and being surrounded by numerous individuals, the happiness rooted in such a performance is valuable.

To add further credence to my assertion, I believe that not every performance is available on television. For example, a BlackPink concert just took place in Vietnam a year ago attracting numerous individuals to come, and there were no official replays on television. To explain, no media departments were allowed to broadcast and replay the show due to copyright problems. So, even though there were many video clips illegally published online on various social media platforms, the quality of these clips was extremely bad in comparison with the live performance. This was because these videos were recorded by individuals’ devices, which often had a poorer recording quality compared to professional equipment, which was nearly impossible to carry into the concert.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of saving money and choosing the most suitable places to watch, I believe that going to live performances is much more comfortable. This is because of the vibrant atmosphere in such performances and the availability of these shows on TV.