Many people believe that watching a live performance is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether witnessing a stage in person is more fulfilling than watching a broadcast of the same performance has elicited a rang of opinions. This essay attempt to shed light on the pros and cons of this view, but ultimately shows more favor for the merits.

Supporters of this belief state that watching a live stage is more conducive to self-fulfillment and satisfaction, leading to memorable experiences. Seeing a performance face-to-face – whether musical, theatrical, or comedic – will immerse you in an intense environment not replicable in a casual atmosphere, and connect you with other peers who have similar interests. For example, Taylor Swift fans have a tradition of making friendship bracelets for everyone who attends her Eras World Tour, linking admirers together and creating heartwarming memories. However, buyin concert tickets can be costly, especially for popular artists, and as such will be monetarily disadvantageous to attend these events for geographically-challenged concert-goers.

On the other hand, proponents of the opposite opinion argue that watching the same event from home has more merits both physically and mentally. Going to a live event is taxing on the body; therefore, staying at home will eliminate unnecessary stress and provide front-row seats to the experience without needing to shell out a large amount of money. Furtheremore, there is a prevalent safety concern at live events, pertaining to stampedes, bombings, etc…. Recently, in the same Taylor Swift World Tour, there were two suspected bombers in the audience. If it had not been for the competent security system, thousand of women and children would have been killed and brought a tragic ending to the tour.

With the beforementioned points, this writer is decidedly favorable on this stance, but opts for a synergistic approach where there is a balance between concert-going and home shows. One must consider the monetary, mental and physical repercussions to attending a live concert.