Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

Nowadays, a group of people believes that Zoos do not have much importance; ultimately should be closed as they bring problems such as investment and others. In this essay, I will discuss the problems caused by Zoos and other ways to compensate and save animals if they are closed.

To begin with, advocates who assert the closure of zoos unique that they require a lot of land in urban area and build friendly environment, where flora and fauna can survive. In addition, city centres are already crowded to accommodate the increased population, therefore other necessary development should giving a priority such as educational institutes and hospitals. Along with that, building and maintaining Zoos requires large amount of funds as they have to pay huge salaries of Specialist doctors to monitor their health and other staff.

However, there are other ways for compensating the closures as building National parks and “Sanctuaries” in sub-urban areas. As they already have the supportive environment to wild life, along with that the life span of animals has increased in their natural habitat as compared to Zoos. To quote an example, a study suggests that a lion starves more in wild life Sanctuaries comparing to the zoos. Moreover, National parks do not require huge allocation of funds simply because they require less maintenance, which is high in case of Zoos.

To summenise, in current world, where land acquisition is an issue zoos not only require space but also have to invest to maintain them to make livable space for animals. In such scenarios, building other wild life habitat in rural areas will help to resolve the problem.