Many people delay marriage and having children. Why? Is this positive or negative?

In today’s modern world many people are likely delay marriage and having children than they were decades ago. This essay will examine reasons of this trend and give my personal opinion.

Nowadays, more and more people all over the world start to delay their marriage and do not rush having children. This trend is happening because traditional, religious and conservative ideas are not relevant anymore as they were in the past. This means that the ideas of individualism, freedom took over nearly every country in the world. Moreover, democracy in many countries only in papers, in the real world this system fails to be true.

I believe that is a negative development. This is because many couples delay marriage and having children because they worry about the future. The economy in the world is not stable, the wage of work is very low, while the price of houses and flats is steadily increasing. Moreover, numerous students have to take loans in order to pay for education. As a result, after graduation a significant part of their salaries goes to the debt. This means that many individuals wait to the time when they reach stability in career. Additionally, feminism has helped women to reach equal rights. As a result, the construction of the world has been changing, women are not independent from men anymore. This is also point to the negative development, the decreasing rates literally means that women did not benefited from the marriage in the past.

In conclusion, I believe that many people delay marriage and having children because they cannot afford having children and having a house. This is a negative development because marriage and children are equal to losing freedom for some people. Nevertheless I believe it is only seen in this way because the system in the world – capitalism and patriarchy are real problems.