Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is widely argued that attempts to save endangered animal species are not a wise way to spend a state budget. I totally disagree with this statement, so in this essay I will expose the shallowness of this way of thinking by explaining a potential risk of defunding these types of programs.

First and foremost, today people face the challenge of a deep ecological crisis, which also is constantly exacerbated by animal extinction. Endangered species are a substantial part in local ecosystems as well as remain its vulnerable part, effecting other animals’ safety. Moreover, the disappearance of one specie leads to unpredictable consequences of potential risks for others, starting a domino falling effect. For example, the extermination of Tasmanian tigers contributed to the wide spread of diseases among herbivorous species as there was no one, who controls population by killing weak and infected ones. Consequently, the uncertain safety status of herbivorous animals threats herb and other part of a food supply chain.

Secondly, here is the moral side of rescuing rare species. The human being became a superior specie among all living creatures by relentless improvement and development of technologies, deteriorating natural environment. It seems to be fair, if society imparts some of its benefits for the purposes of environmental protection, like safety of endangered species. Although for the most part of a global community morality is inferior to materialistic goods, appealing to moral principles could be a great argument for further implementation of more stringent law regarding protection of ecological environment. For instance, the XX century’s ethical transformation of ecological law raised not only the crucial issue of decreasing biodiversity, but also the global awareness about the right to live in decent ecological conditions.

In conclusion, society should be more informed about the importance of biodiversity and the shallowness of strident statements about defunding pro ecological policy. In face of this challenge, people should ponder possible ways of transformation to a sustainable development, preventing the treats of extinction of endangered species.