Many people feel that media coverage is becoming increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

Journalistic coverage plays a crucial role in people’s lives to stay informative about the world news. Although, over the years, media reporting is starting to get more unreliable. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons linked to this trend and possible measures to gauge this problem.

Media bias can arise from several factors, including political influence and cultural bias. Some media organizations support specific political parties or ideologies, to favor their perspectives. For example, number of Russian channels get influence from government, so most of the information that they broadcast is similar to each other. In this way, governance is shaping the public opinion through control. Moreover, cultural bias may be another factor for this cause. Journalists may unconsciously reflect their own beliefs or societal norms in their reporting, in order to fit public expectations.

Despite the above-mentioned reasons, there are still viable solutions to tackle this problem. Firstly, press reportings must represent transparency in ownership. Journalistic organizations should disclose their owners and sponsors, to reduce dependency on advertisers. Additionally, most people should encourage diverse news consumption. Readers should follow different sources like international and independent press organizations, to come up with their own opinion, before spreading the fake news. This will help to decrease the number of biased media in the news companies.

In conclusion, while government influence and cultural bias are the main causes behind this trend, media companies can overcome it through owner disclosure and readers should consider reading different sources.