Many people feel that media coverage is becoming increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

A while ago, during the time when Israel and Palestine’s conflicts had just started, Cate Blanchett the actress wore a dress in solidarity with Palestine at the academy awards. Me, a fashion enthusiast was eager to look at the details of the dress, since it had a very unique shoulder piece made with pearls. And for this reason i headed to an application where you can find anything and everything related to fashion in it. To my surprise, there was not one single photo of that dress.

Why is it people feel that media is biased nowadays ? Because in the past there wasn’t much resources where we could get our information from. There was the tv, newspaper, radio, gossip columns and etc. and almost all of them were controlled either by the government or big corporations.

but nowadays with technology growing everyday, different sources are founded, from your local instagram influencer to independent news blogs. And because of the different coverages and interpretations that people get, they realized that the media almost always pick favorites.

For fixing the problem, you have to put aside your own agendas and profit and start telling a story as it is to people and let people decide for themselves. And sometimes the problem is not the media but is the pressure and the danger that threatens the life and career of a man that wants to be the truth sayer.

To have an unbiased media coverage we need sacrifices from everyone, sometimes an unbiased newsletter can change much in a society and do a lot of good to some. Sometimes it can cause irreversible damage and the thing is some people are not very good at taking damages and they take it to heart to do anything to not let it happen, and that’s where we need to change.