Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, despite the growth of developed countries, there are still many poor states that cannot afford the same kind of cure when needed. This problem leads to a big question: Why drug companies do not reduce the costs of their products in order to make them available to everybody?

I believe that primary products such as food and medicines should be easly affordable by all people regardless of their social status. Unfortunately this is not the case because we can hear everyday of people dying due to lack of healthcare or nourishment. As far as concern drugs, there is too much competition between pharmaceutical companies and this results in the rise of prices.

From one side, I understand the fact that all studies conducted behind each medical product are very expensive and this could be one of the reason why the medicines are high-priced. That is the reason why I advocate that government should provide more money for research. Probably, having the companies more help from the governments in terms of expenses, they will more willing to sell their products at a lower price.

From the other side, governments get money from citizens and this might lead to the dissatisfaction of the population. That is why I think that even if this could be a solution it will never be adoptated because, even if we know that there is a real problem in poor counties, we are not willing to pay more taxes than what we already do.

To sum up, I believe that we need a big change to face up with the problem, otherwise anything is going to change and people living in undeveloped countries will keep dying a cause of illnesses that are actually curable.