Many people now live in societies where consumer goods have become cheap. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, an increasing number of citizens live in societies where consumer goods have become cheap. From my perspective, I believe this is a positive trend because of several advantages it brings.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people think it is an overall negative trend. First and foremost, people can be scammed, especially on social platforms. For example, many individuals can easily have bad shopping experiences when buying devices or products which are completely different from advertisements. As a consequence, they have to suffer from frustration and disappointment when buying random things with a low price. Furthermore, they can even buy some fake stuff. When consumer goods become cheap, some criminals with malicious intentions can create fake things among the real ones. This can negatively affect consumers’ health like digestive problems.

On the other hand, I would argue this trend is positive due to some benefits. Firstly, people can avoid shouldering many financial pressures when going shopping, allowing them to spend money on other essential life aspects like child-rearing or practicing hobbies. Therefore, they can balance their finances in their daily lives. Secondly, citizens’ living standards can be improved significantly when essential stuff becomes cheap. For instance, members of society can easily access and pay for more expensive services when saving a huge amount of money. Therefore, cheaper consumer goods makes better shopping experiences more affordable for everyone.

In conclusion, in spite of certain drawbacks of this trend, I totally believe this is an overall positive trend due to some advantages like improvements of people’s shopping experiences and living standards.