Many people now undertake extreme activities, from hang-gliding to mountain climbing. Why do people risk their lives in this way, and do you think this is a good trend?

In the modern era, humanity has become more and more risking their lives by engaging in extremely deadly sports. Within the society, some individuals can say that it has positive side, while others argue that it have more negative impacts. Despite the fact, that it has a plenty of benefits, I believe that extreme sports offer a way more drawbacks.

One of the primary advantage of the extreme sports is increased physical fitness. Put differently, such ultimate sports as heli-skiing(jumping from helicopter to ski) provides a great lower-body workout by developing and improving leg muscles. For example, Herman Maier, the most popular skier in the world, has fantastic flexibility and endurance. As a result, it gives more physical strength.

On the other hand, radical sports has demerits as the high-risk of injury or even death. Moreover, extreme sports can take place in remote and uncivilized locations, where it’s easy to be lost. In this case, there is only one way to survive: to rely on your survival skills. For instance, the researches found that chance of getting injured or getting into accident from hang gliding is 1 in 116 000, which means that it’s 5 to 8 times dangerous than sky diving.

To sum up, I hold the belief that being popular of the extreme sports among people has more cons than pros. It is simpler to do other varieties of sports rather than extreme ones.