Many people prefer to have a large circle of friends. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this choice? Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Some people think that having numerous friends is beneficial as they can give a social support in difficult moments. Whereas, others argue that having a lot of friends can lead to emotional draining. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages.

There are some benefits of having a lot of friends. Firstly, people can ask some advice from their friends. When people have a lot of close friends, it is more beneficial to have social support. For example, people without friends will not have as much support as cohorts with numerous close friends because they cannot ask for help. Secondly, when people will have a lot of friends, they will be more active. People with their close friends may have discussion in any topics and share their problems. That is why having a large circle of friends is beneficial due to support and an active lifestyle.

Despite these advantages, there are disadvantages that can outweigh the benefits. Firstly, having a lot of friends can be emotional overwhelming. A person should spend time with their friends, but not too much. Because they have their own life and they should do their homework and prepare for exams in their spare time. Spending time with close friends may be time-consuming as well. As a result, drawbacks such as deterioration of emotional state and loss of time can be depicted as drawbacks of wide social networks.

In conclusion, despite having so many friends has benefits like social support and activity, it has some disadvantages like waste of time. That is why, I believe that disadvantages outweigh the advantages.