Many people prefer to have a large circle of friends. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this choice? Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Some people opt for having numerous friends. I believe that disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages.

There are several benefits of having lots of friends. First of all, people will have social support from their friends. When a person has a lot of close people, one can ask them for help. Friends will give advice, help during difficult moments, and support in endeavors. For example, people without friends will not have as much support as cohorts with numerous close people because they can not ask for help. Secondly, these people are more active. People with wide social connections may have many beneficial networks, hobbies, and exciting times. By contrast, people with several friends, most likely, do not have many connections, do not have useful hobbies, and are not active. That is why having wide social connections could be beneficial due to support and an active lifestyle.

Despite these advantages, there are disadvantages that outweigh the benefits. Firstly, being friendly and having many friends can be emotionally draining. A person should spend time with them, help, and support, which can affect oneself negatively. People with a lot of close persons, for example, may have some psychological issues due to exhaustion during the friendship. Secondly, it may be time-consuming. Friends spend time together and have fun, so these people may not have enough time to finish their tasks at work, do homeworks, or prepare for exams. As a result, drawbacks such as deterioration of emotional state and loss of time can be demonstrated as disadvantages of wide social networks.

In conclusion, even though having so many friends has benefits such as social support and activity, it has short-comings like waste of time and emotional instability. That is why I believe that disadvantages far outweigh the advantages.