Many people say that the only way to guarantee getting a good job is to complete a course of university education. Others claim that it is better to start work after school and gain experience in the world of work. How far do you agree or disagree with the above views?

Nowadays, a lot of people state that getting a good job can only be guaranteed by completing a university education, while others claim that it is better to start work right after school to gain experience. I take a balanced view, as I think it is a complex topic and much depends on the specific field of work we are talking about.

On the one hand, if we speak about specialized and regulated professions where precision and specific knowledge are a must, you will definitely need a degree. This applies to all healthcare professions, such as doctors, surgeons, pharmacists, etc. You will also need a degree to work in engineering, law, and many other fields. There may be ways to become a lawyer without higher education, but you will still need to complete specific courses to get a license.

On the other hand, there are other fields for which a degree is not a must. For example, there are a lot of jobs in the hospitality industry, like waiter, bartender, and host. However, this industry has a distinct career ladder; while you can start without a degree, specific skills acquired at a university might be needed to reach high earnings. Also, one of the most modern fields is IT. This sector is unique because your ability to do the work matters more than where you learned it. Furthermore, in the creative and beauty industries, you can work without a degree. Finally, blue-collar jobs generally do not require a degree.

In conclusion, there are many spheres where you can work even without graduating from a university, but at the same time, there are some jobs in which you are unable to work without university knowledge. In other spheres, a university diploma can simply boost your career progress.