Many people say that universities should only offer places to young student with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary world, limiting access to higher education remains a contentious topic. Whilst it is argued by some that universities should be restricted to academically accomplished students, I am still of the opinion that university education should be accessible to the wider majority due to cultivation of better career prospects.

On the one hand, it is widely supported by some that only those who perform excellently should be admitted to high-ranking universities. This is because students are required to possess a certain amount of background knowledge before enrolling in high-ranking institues. By having adequate skills and prior insights, this group of students may experience little hardship, which can always be addressed with the help of their supervisors. As a result, they are more likely to dedicate their time to further hone their skills and knowledge, contributing significantly to society in the future.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that tertiary education must be available to the public. This is due to the fact that pursuing higher education can greatly impact individuals, who have poor academic performance. By studying with the best in the nations, they can acquire new skills that can help them to land better job opportunities. For instance, engaging in community colleges and local universities allow them to pick up certain skills related to finance, economics, medicines, and marketing, which are extremely valuable in the job market. As a result, even people, who previously have poor academic performance, can achieve a more fulfilling life if they put in enough work and determination.

In conclusion, although there are several reasons indicating that young talents should be accepted to prestigious academies , it is everyone’s right to obtain education. Not only will it help them attain a higher standard of living but it also teaches them practical skills.