Many people these days have computer, laptops, telephones at their home for work. Do you think, working from home has more advantages or disadvantages? Give reasons.

In the era of rapidly developing digitalization, the majority of workers choose to complete their tasks at home rather than at the office. As comfortable and financially advantageous as working at home may seem, it also has significant drawbacks that are important for consideration.

One of the primary benefits of getting the job done at home is comfort. In other words, the office is mostly associated with stress, which makes it a less attractive place to earn money compared to the household. For instance, a cozy atmosphere at home could increase working efficiency and overall motivation, which is profitable both for the individual and the company.

Second, but not the least important positive point of distant work is reduced expenses on commute or dress code. As this type of cost is not covered by wages, individuals will prefer cutting expenditures in order to raise overall earnings. This behavior is based on a fundamental economic model of rationality, which explains the spreading popularity of this type of working.

On the other hand, distance employment blurs the boundaries between personal and work life. As the working and relaxing atmospheres mix, it becomes a struggle for a person to both concentrate on the tasks and fully unwind. Moreover, it leads to greater social isolation, which is harmful for human mental and physical health.

In conclusion, distant work may be comfortable and financially rational; however, it can lead to severe consequences in terms of health. Considering both pros and cons, I am inclined to think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Nevertheless, the convenience of working depends on the person’s preferences.