Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expensive to discourage people from having it

While people think low-cost carriers should be encouraged because it is suitable for normal individuals to have opportunities to travel, some other people believe that air travel should be expensive in order to diminish pollution and deal with environmental issues. Although it can be argued that budget airlines should be more expensive, I believe that low-cost carriers should be developed because of the invaluable value that it brings for the local economy.

On the one hand, an increase of low-cost airlines contributes to exacerbating climate change issues. To explain, the boom of budget airlines, the proliferation of low-cost carriers, coupled with frequent promotional campaigns also make flight frequency increase. The amount of carbon footprint released to the atmosphere causes more massive greenhouse gases than ever. For instance, people tend to choose the short flights instead of traveling by train because of saving their time. It can be created the quantity of emissions and environmental degradation just for short term routes by chance.

On the other hand, admittedly, budget airlines play an important role in equality of overseas travel and boost the local economy. On the personal level, I believe that low-cost airlines and journeys also help ordinary people or middle-class citizens have more chances to travel further to experience the world – a privilege of the rich. Besides, overseas travel enhances cultural sensitivity, fosters independence, and cultivates the global mindset. Meanwhile, the influx of international tourists boosts disposable income within the hospitality sector by injecting foreign currency directly into the local market. This economic injection creates many jobs for the foreign people, stimulates of growing of global visitors, and subsequently drives infrastructure improvement.

In conclusion, although environmental effects are true and need to be solved. Personally, I believe that low-cost carriers not only bring many benefits for humanity but also inject economy and attract foreign investment.