Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that the advancement in technology has some detrimental impacts on social exchange. While I understand why some people disagree with this view, I still agree with this for several reasons.

Those who believe that technological communication platforms have changed the way we communicate with others may have several arguments. To begin with, high-techs allow people to expand their social circle by connecting to whole the world. For instance, they can use some online forums like Pinterest to bring together people with share a common interest in photography, which can offer more opportunities for individuals to form new friendships. Another point is that it helps people to stay in touch with loved ones regardless of geographical distance and maintain their relationships.

Nevertheless, I would argue that modern electronic devices can bring detrimental implications to relationships between people in a community. Chief among these is that individuals may grow more isolated if more convenient modes of communication, such as smartphones and social media, become the norm. Another reason worth mentioning is that people who heavily rely on online contact tend to lack face-to-face interactions with others. As a result, they accidentally can not convey the depth of emotions which can lead to misunderstandings and further the distance between two people.

In conclusion, despite acknowledging the logic of the opponents, I still side with those who agree with the view of the negative influence on social relationships that modern communication technology brings.