Many people think that having more money and less free time is better than earning less money and having more free time.

Work, eat, sleep repeat can be seen as the basis to the average human life. However, life has a key element that makes all these boring aspects worthwhile, leisure. Within the first paragraph the positive aspects of having less free time and more money will be discussed and the paragraph to follow will show why having more free time and less money is not beneficial.

Firstly, the reason as to why having more money and less free time is better is simply because of the opportunities that it can afford you. Money makes the whole world go round as per the metaphor: ” money is like water, it’s something that you desire but can’t live without.” Leisure can only be afforded to those who have money as it solves most of our problems. Therefore, money allows people to have a higher standard of living and higher quality of free time.

Secondly having more free time as opposed to more money depreciates your quality of life. This state puts you in a bind as once you have more free time you instinctively become lazier and counterproductive. People who choose not to pursue money but rather more free time are far less likely to be happy as most of the necessities in life require money, which is what they deprive themselves of.

To conclude the essay, leisure in the correct proportion to money allows one to attain happiness through quality of free time rather than quantity of free time.