Many people think that having more money and less free time is better than earning less money and having more free time.

Many people believe that spare time is not as important as money, and therefore argue that it is better to achieve a high financial condition than to have enough time to spend on their lives. This essay completely disagrees with that opinion because working for more money also means that people will have less time for their family and become more careless about their health.

It is quite apparent that the ambition to earn more money is synonymous with the significant decrease in the amount of time people spend for their loved ones. This often leads to inevitable conflicts among family members, which add to the high level of stress brought about by the heavy workload at the workplace, even further worsening the terrible situation. Meanwhile, if they have the time to share their daily stories with their family, they will definitely receive plenty of positive feelings from the sympathetic words spoken by the familiar voices. Thanks to this, they have the motivation to live and work in a more meaningful way.

Moreover, there is a general tendency for people who work with an intensive financial desire to ignore or even sacrifice their health. For example, they do not have the chance to participate in any outdoor activities. More seriously, they do not even leave any second for their bodies to rest after sitting for hours and hours in front of a computer. All these things add up and cause their physical health to suffer from various illnesses and diseases, namely headache, backache and obesity. Eventually, in their old age, they have to face the consequences of their inactive lifestyle at the workplace when they were young.

In conclusion, this essay clearly disagrees with the view that people should try to earn more money instead of spending their free time on other aspects of their lives. That invalid mentality is not only the root of many family troubles but also the primary cause of the poor health condition of many people.