Many people think that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment, and only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People believe that individuals are unable to make an improvement to the environment and that only governments and large companies can make an impact on environment. I disagree with the concept above because individuals can make a positive impact on environment by raising public awareness of individual responsibility and prompting governments and large companies to take action.

Doing environmental activities, such as using environmentally friendly products and saving electricity can motivate and encourage other people to follow up. Thus, ‘environmentally responsible culture’ will be formed. As a results, the protecting environment trait can pervade in resident’s ritual. For example, Before the ‘Zero Waste’ project became popular and trending, it was launched by few people. Therefore, individuals take an important role on shifting people’s awareness of the importance of protecting wildlife.

Furthermore, citizens can place a great pressure on both government and large companies through election and boycotting their products. To be specific, in every election, striking a compromise about protecting environment with government is inevitable. Additionally, Shift in using environmentally friendly applicants is necessary to force large companies not to adversely affect habitat. For instance, Coca-Cola had to reduce their reliance on using plastic cans after customers boycott consuming Coca-Cola’s Coke. This indicates that people are likely to make major impact on government and large companies to take action.

In conclusion, people do make a difference on environment by prompting large companies and government to take action and forming ‘environmentally responsible culture’. Every small action can be accumulated to make a significant change on major problems