Many people think that museums and galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that museums and art galleries ought not to exhibit objects that are made by local artists. In the following essay, I will elabarate my opinion on whether i agree or disagree to this perspective .

Some people claim that supporting local art designers in public places , where their works are exhibited has several advantages . Firstly, it is very beneficial to the region’s economy. For example, exhibiting local artists can stimulate the local economy by attracting tourists interested in the region’s unique cultural offerings and by supporting local art markets businesses . Secondly, it also helps to support local talent. For instance, by showcasing local artists, museums and galleries provide crucial support and recognition to emerging and established local talent, helping them gain exposure and career opportunities.

On the other hand, there are also some people holding the view that museums and art galleries should present the works of foreign artists, as well , for several reasons. To begin with, it can broaden horizons. Specifically, by exhibiting foreign masterpieces, they can foster cultural exchange, allowing visitors to experience and appreciate diverse artistic traditions and perspectives from around the world. Next, by including foreign art, they can easily create connections with international artists, institutions, and companies , promoting cross-cultural dialogue and collaboration.

In conclusion , even though there are several cultural and economic advantages in representing the works of only local artists , i opt for to involve international artworks to the collections of local ones .