Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

When it comes to the preservation of animals which are under the threat of extinction, 2 opposing views may appear. The first view which people hold is that zoos are not viable way to protect animals as they tend to torture animals, while other people think that they are integral for the protection of endangered species. Zoos can be helpful for rare animals to some extent, however, I believe that animals should be set free to live on their own.

On the one hand, keeping animals in the zoo behind the fences can be seen as a panacea so as to preserve rare species. Many endangered wild animals like panda are likely to become extinct as they are no longer multiply in wild lifestyle and there some species which may feed on pandas. That is to say, competition in wild habitat makes pandas vulnerable, therefore leading them into fading away. In that case, zoos are the best option to protect them from hunter animals and help them to breed efficiently. A good case in point is china where the preservation of pandas has become one of the main policy of the government and some strict laws are enacted against panda hunting.

On the other hand, while zoos can be seen as a crucial measure for the protection of endangered species, yet the wildlife is the better spot for any rare animals to survive and breed safely. Most wild animals are very sensitive to humans and captivation, which may feel themselves annoyed around them. Although there are no hunter animals, they can not mate with each other freely as there is the availability of people and as a result making them die without any breeding. That is why many countries are setting free animals in safe places where there are no the menace of dangerous animals.

To conclude, despite the fact that zoos are important to preserve rare animals for future, I reckon that captivation is not a solution for endangered animals.