Many people today are worried about the large quantities of waste produced by ordinary households. What problems are caused by household waste, and what solutions may be possible in both the short and the long term?

The topic of higher amounts of garbage produced in households is concerning for all of humans, and I think there are two main problems caused by this matter and there are also three measures that can be taken to overcome this problem, both in short and long terms.

Regarding the problems caused by household’s waste, perhaps the main issue is the effect of waste entering the environment, causing pollution in the land, the water and even the air. Obviously, when garbage are dumped, it may has left the household, but it surely must be stored somewhere, for instance, in large wastelands, which are limited in size. Therefore, higher level of waste production leads to larger number of dumpsters to store them. Furthermore, excessive garbage production demands higher amount of effort for properly disposal, overloading the labor and draining the resources. For example, if the dumpsters are filled sooner than what is expected, extra-man power and machinery is needed to make up the new pace.

Turning to the solutions, advertisement and increasing people’s awareness regarding the effects of garbage on ecosystem can be helpful in short-term. Many are unaware or perhaps forgotten their household’s waste impact on environment, and through media this can be reminded. Furthermore, setting new rules to regulate the amount waste produced in households can be effective in short terms. Punishing in case of extra waste, or maybe prize for making less waste is an effective way of reducing the production of waste. Finally, by designing new packaging in big companies, and introducing more recyclable products can play an important rule in this matter, as a large portion of wastes in a house is from packages and containers.

Overall, higher volume of waste production in households are causing pollution in environment, and demanding higher power and energy for its disposal. This can be prevented through increasing awareness in social media, and also through legislation in favor of less garbage production.