With increasing global interconnectedness, some people believe that traditional cultural practices are disappearing. To what extent do you agree or disagree that globalization endangers cultural identity?

The cultural identity is considered one of the most significant attributes of a person. Many individuals today assume that the internet destroys this special feature of many nations, since many people seem to lose it because of the utility of social networks. Nevertheless, another group of people tends to believe that a person’s identity may not disappear if they are self-conscious. I strongly agree with the latter statement; however, as far as I’m concerned, youth has to be taught that cultural background is one of the most vital things that a person has to maintain.

First of all, it is worth admitting that the internet has considerably modified the communication between different nationalities and races; consequently, it has also affected relationships between them. For instance, many people can express themselves’ points of view that sometimes might lead to controversial political debates online, thereby maculating the reputation of the countries. Nonetheless, individuals can also foster there relationships what is also done frequently. Regarding identity, it may not be ruined in all these cases if the person has their own understanding of the culture and they know that their ethnicity is paramount for them.

By contrast, many media that are curbed by authoritarian governments may post different propaganda that may be perceived as truth by the readers, especially by young people. For example, they might manipulate facts that are linked with the history and culture of a region. Nonetheless, it will not affect individuals who know the crux of the matter and understand the theme.

To sum up, I’m of the opinion that globalizing processes of the world may really have a detrimental impact on the perception of people and, eventually, make some of them lose their cultural background. However, on condition that youth and all individuals who may be affected will be taught about their ethnicity, the chance for them to be manipulated is next to nothing.